Wednesday, June 20, 2012

Young women awarded for excellence

Several decades ago, the Zetas of Charlotte Benevolent Foundation set out to honor promising young women in the area.

Each year, the foundation, which is a nonprofit geared toward service, scholarship and unity, selects three high school graduates to give the Sara Scott Schofield scholarship.

This year’s recipients include Karen Bent of David W. Bulter High School, Ayonna Richardson of Zebulon B. Vance High, and Elsie Okoh-Addo of IBCS Oylmpic High School.

Each scholarship winner will receive $500 for college.

Pictured: Karen Bent and Ayonna Richardson. Photo courtesy of Jessica Best.